top of page

January blues: top 2017 books to read

Ugh.

Yep, that word pretty much sums up January in a nutshell, doesn't it? Although I am looking forward to the gasping breath of relief from all of the death and terrible things that happened last year, the fact that this relief comes in the form of January 2017 sours it slightly.

We could all do with some cheering up. And what better way to cheer yourself up than escaping to a non-existent made-up world that can take you away from all of the pain?

 

1. The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel

I LOVE THIS BOOK. I said it was my book of the year last year because I got an early copy, but it actually comes out this year. And to be honest, I wouldn't be surprised if it tops my book of the year charts this year too (although the rest of this list would beg to differ). It's wonderful and painful and raw. It follows the character Lane, whose narrative splits between her past and present. In the past, she moves to her grandparents' ranch called Roanoke after her mother dies, and then when she returns years later in the present, she discovers her cousin has gone missing. It's a fantastic read and is very taboo. I love it. Plus the cover is beaut.

 

2. The Heart's Invisible Furies by John Boyne

Any new book by the author of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas is bound to get attention. But this is a turn away from Boyne's days of writing from children's perpectives. Instead, he writes about a man, Cyril Avery, who wants to find out who he is and where he came from. The book spans from the 1940s until the present day and is meant to make you both laugh and cry.

 

3. Into the Water by Paula Hawkins

Now, I wasn't that big a fan of The Girl on the Train despite its huge success. It was a good book that kept me hooked, but there was nothing about it that sung. However, I am extremely excited about this book, more to see what Paula will do next. Will she just be a one-hit wonder kind of author? Or will this double her success?

 

4. My Absolute Darling by Gabriel Tallent

I first read this book when I was at Little, Brown and the manuscript was sent to me. This is such a brutally beautiful book and one of the best I have EVER read. I am so excited to see what 4th estate do with this new talent. My Absolute Darling publishes September 2017 and is probably one of the books I'm most excited about on this list.

 

5. Domina by L. S Hilton

The sequel to the uber successful Maestra that had a heart-splitting plot and cover. The sequel features the same femme fatale Judith Rashleigh who once again trails readers into the dangerous underworld of Europe's glamorous, corrupt and murderous elite. If it's anything like the first book, then it is certain to set the press aflame with its raunchyness and perhaps its readers too.

 

6. The Winds of Winter by George R. R. Martin

Though this will most likely get rescheduled AGAIN (don't get me started on this), I think we are all very excited for this book given it's been six years.

*cue Sirius Black gif*

Even though the TV show gave away some major plot points, there are many things that will be revealed in the next instalment. It's just a shame we may have to wait a millennium for the final one.

 

7. Difficult Women by Roxanne Gay

This is one book that has come up on my radar again and again. From the author of Bad Feminist and An Untamed State comes a collection of stories about women in a hostile world, subject to everything duplicitous.

 

8. Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

I received the most gorgeous proof for this book which has made me want to read it EVEN MORE. Marketing done right.

It helps that it's also very high up on Goodreads too, but this is definitely one to look forward to.

I MEAN LOOK AT IT.

 

9. Exit West by Mohsin Hamid (Hamish Hamilton)

I don't know much about this book. But I loved The Reluctant Fundamentalist so this has really caught my eye. Apparently it's a love story set against the backdrop of the refugee crisis. A topical and powerful book I imagine and I look forward to reading this one.

 

10. Untitled by Cressida Cowell

This is going to be big. I mean, it's by the author who wrote How To Train Your Dragon. Although there hasn't been a title reveal yet, hype is already building for the brand new fantasy adventure series inspired by ancient Britain. I don't care if this is a kid's book. I am buzzing.

 

So they're my suggestions. What books are you most looking forward to this year?

bottom of page