top of page

Interview with Amy Engel, Author of The Roanoke Girls

Hi Amy, welcome to it just a Word! Thanks so much for taking time to respond to our interview questions!

So guys, Amy is going to tell us about her new novel The Roanoke Girls which publishes in the UK on the 9th March 2017 and the 7th March 2017 in the US.

1. Amy, like a novel pitch, if you had to sum yourself up in one sentence, what would that one sentence be?

Oh, I am such crap at stuff like this! I always want to be clever and funny and then spend an hour coming up with five (non-clever) words. Okay, best shot: I’m a wife, mother, and writer who worries too much, loves cats, guacamole, and reading, and hates being the center of attention. See? Total crap.

2. Tell us your latest news?

Hmmm…latest news…well, The Roanoke Girls is out soon, which is so exciting! And I’m working on my next book and hope to have a readable draft done in the near future.

3. So, onto your novel, The Roanoke Girls. I loved it. Twitter is ALWAYS talking about it. And will be talking about it when it publishes in March. First off, what made you decide to write about such a taboo subject?

I’m so glad you loved the book! Honestly (and without giving any spoilers), I didn’t really think about it being a taboo subject when I came up with the idea. I knew I wanted to set the story in a small Kansas town and that both the town and the family estate would have a very insular, claustrophobic feel. That’s really where the initial story idea came from. I was trying to find a storyline and relationships that would mirror and heighten those feelings of isolation and claustrophobia.

4. Lane is such a relatable character because she’s so human and flawed and yet compelling. But my favourite characters are probably either Gran or Allegra. Who is your favourite character in the novel and why?

Lane is my favorite character, hands down. I just adore her. I know some people don’t find her very likable, but I think everything she does, even the awful things, makes sense given her past. She is so damaged and so heartbroken at her core, and I feel such sympathy for her even when she lashes out.

5. Working in criminal law previously, you’re obviously familiar with this subject, but what other research did you undertake before writing or during the writing of the book? Did your background in law help the writing process apart from just in terms of research?

I didn’t do a ton of research for this book. The setting was easy for me as I was born in Kansas and spent a lot of time in small towns there. And having been a criminal attorney, I already knew quite a bit about abuse and its effects on victims. I think my background in law helped a lot with this book, or at least with the way I approached the book. I wanted to avoid the idea of the villain(s) who are simply pure evil. I wanted them to be human and flawed. Not as a way to excuse their behavior but as a way for the reader to better understand both the villain and their victims.

6. Now, I’m going to ask some spoiler questions because I can and because you should all read it so SPOILER ALERT DO NOT READ ANY MORE OF THIS POST. BUT… Why did Allegra have to die? Could she not have been kidnapped or hidden or something? I was so sad and so convinced that she’d make it because she was so fiery and impactful. I feel like this is a stupid question because it is a major plot point, but authors often kill of very good characters and it always makes me so sad.

Ah, Allegra. She breaks my heart. You know, I never really considered having Allegra live. She was such a tragic figure. Her death is really the catalyst that forces Lane to confront the past and to finally decide that keeping the family secret is worse than telling the truth. Up until that point, she always felt like letting people know the truth about herself and her family would be the worst thing she could do. But Allegra’s death, and wanting some justice for Allegra, is the thing that finally makes her brave enough to speak out.

7. How important is the wider conversation on sexual assault and the victimisation of young women in positions of vulnerability to you? Would you read your own novel in this way?

It’s extremely important to me. That was one thing I thought about in crafting this book. I wanted to make Granddad a charming, sort of irresistible presence, not some hideous monster. I think a lot of times people feel like if a girl isn’t physically forced into something, if she’s instead seduced or manipulated, then she wasn’t really sexually assaulted. It’s another way to blame the victim and to ensure the victim blames herself. That’s definitely a theme I was exploring in this book.

8. What books have most influenced your life? And what books most influenced you when writing The Roanoke Girls? Has the whole ‘girls’ movement with Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train and The Girls had an impact on The Roanoke Girls in any way do you think?

One of the first books I loved as a young reader was Jane-Emily by Patricia Clapp. It’s a traditional gothic mystery and it definitely influenced my wanting to write a book with a creepy house at its center. I don’t think that Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train, etc. really impacted The Roanoke Girls. I didn’t set out to have “girls” in the title, it just fit so well when I was done with the book that I had to use it. There is another Gillian Flynn book, though, that influenced The Roanoke Girls somewhat. Sharp Objects was a book that stuck with me and sort of gave me permission in my own head to go into dark territory with The Roanoke Girls.

9. Would you pick Cooper or Tommy?

Is this even a question? Lol. Cooper, absolutely.

10. What are your current projects?

I’m working on another psychological suspense novel right now.

11. What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Writing The Roanoke Girls wasn’t actually that difficult; it felt like a story that really wanted to be told. For such a dark book, it was a true joy to write.

12. We have quite a few people who read it is just a Word because they’re writers themselves. Do you have any advice for other writers?

Probably nothing they haven’t heard before, but I think it helps to hear it from multiple sources. Read a lot. Develop a thick skin. Don’t write for the market, but do think about the market when writing. Learn to take criticism well. Be patient, publishing is slow. Don’t give up.

13. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Just a huge thank you. I’m well aware of the sheer number of amazing books out there, and I’m always grateful when readers spend their time and money on one of mine. Thank you!

Thanks so much for giving up your time to talk / write to us Amy.

The Roanoke Girls is out on 7th March in the US and 9th March in the UK. So look out. In fact, you probably won’t even need to look. This book is going to hit the internet with full force.

You can read my list / review of The Roanoke Girls here.

bottom of page